Blog Archives

My Halal Kitchen

Welcome to all things related to halal cooking, eating, and of course the halal kitchen itself. I hope you will join me in sharing and exchanging delicious halal recipes for all seasons and all meals you can prepare any day of the week. So, what’s all this halal talk about?

VISIT: http://myhalalkitchen.com/

Why Halal? Muslims who follow the Islamic dietary standard of eating will consume halal (means‘permissible’ in Arabic) foods and beverages. These are considered pure foods ordained for mankind by Allah (God) in the Holy Qur’an and Hadith (sayings of the Prophet Muhammed (peace be upon him). Commonly recognized items that are not halal are pork and all its by-products as well as any type of intoxicating drink, or even drugs. That said, an observer of Islam (i.e. a Muslim) doesn’t drink alcohol or eat pork or foods with their by-products or derivatives. For example, boxed jello and marshmallows usually contain gelatin, which is often derived from pork and therefore not halal (but it could be if halal ingredients are used). Additional non-halal things include birds of prey, carrion, carnivores, blood and human body parts (i.e. hair, which is becoming a common ingredient in processed foods like bread).

Facebook_Logo